Geek to Geek Chic – ‘Dear Diary…’

17 Feb

I’m dating… a geek. Don’t get me wrong, its great! But… he’s a geek. He’s not one of those über intelligent, bookworm, straight A student types but don’t let that deceive you – he’s very bright. It’s just… well… he’s a geek. The comic loving, film adoring, toy collecting, television show watching, gaming type. The cool type. The sexy type.

And me? Well, I’m just a bit… eccentric… and geeky too. And not one of those über intelligent, bookworm, straight A student types either. No, I wouldn’t be allowed to join that club, what with deliberately failing an A-Level, poor university attendance, (very) late assignments… No, I’m a comic loving, film adoring, toy collecting, television show watching type. But not games. I don’t do games. As my other half will tell you, I’m not very good. And apparently that’s the worst type of gamer to be.

Otherwise, we’re a damn good match. We have similar interests and enough different passions. Like other couples, we have that funny moment or two. I can never keep up with his growing figure collection and all their names. He didn’t like Faster Pussycat, Kill, Kill!  He was surprised and annoyed that I knew that the cloud city in Empire Strikes Back was on the planet Bespin when he didn’t. I can’t remember if Julia Chang is from Mortal Kombat, Tekken or Street Fighter. He forgot that Knives Chau kissed Kim Pine. I have a passionate hate for Grimlock.

I do love him though and I wouldn’t want to be with anyone else. I thank the Lord everyday that he isn’t a football fan. Learning the names of all the Transformers is one thing but learning the off side rule? No bloody chance. Readers, I am proud to say that I am dating a geek. But please, have some sympathy for him.

He’s dating a Trekkie…

Leave a Reply

