MEYER MONTH – A Random Piece Of Memorabilia For Your Collection?

10 Mar

Most people who know me know that I collect film posters and am slowly building a nice little archive of Meyer related memorabilia which I hope to expand significantly over the years. When it comes to Meyer-related stuff, I’m usually pretty interested and keep watch on certain items until I’m able to buy them and love them. So imagine my intrigue this week when someone alerted me to a Craigslist listing of someone in LA selling one of Russ Meyer’s cars…

russ meyers car

Whilst the director wasn’t known for his cars, the 1990 Cadillac Allante Pininferina was kept by Meyer for many years. It’s still in good running condition with all of its original parts and is in an easily restorable state. The vehicle even comes with a binder containing all of its maintenance records, which contains the signature of the legend himself, listed at his known Californian home address. Also included is a warranty extension letter certified to the address of RM Films Inc and the original purchase can be traced back to well-known dealer Lou Ehlers Cadillac which was based on Wilshire Boulevard, LA (David Fincher used the place to shoot exteriors for one scene in Fight Club).

lou ehlers

Now I’ve never been one for flashy, modern cars and have always envisioned myself driving around in box-style car. Add the double bonus of previously being own by Meyer himself and this white car is an almost dream buy for me (the only thing holding me back being the price tag and not my lack of a driving license…). Pininferina only made 3,300 of these cars for Cadillac which also makes it a little extra special. Meyer friend and biographer David K. Frasier fondly remembers the car, having interviewed Russ in it on the way to a steakhouse in Needles, California once. So, if you’re reading this Mum and want to make a gal truly happy, this would make the perfect addiction to my Meyer archive, and would be a wonderful eyesore on our front drive…

3 Responses to “MEYER MONTH – A Random Piece Of Memorabilia For Your Collection?”

  1. brian jay glazer June 19, 2013 at 12:47 am #

    Hi I owned this very car, being the second owner. In fact that photo you have of it was taken in my driveway several years ago. It was featured in a Russ Meyer Video called SOUL TWISTER 1990. When I sold the car with that white binder of data and records on it the license plate with Mr. Meyer’s Initials was still in it. It was a great car. Fast and beautiful.

    • lydiarghgrace June 27, 2013 at 10:00 pm #

      Wow, that’s great to know! I will admit, I am a little jealous. Did you manage to buy it directly from him or was it through a garage?

      • brianjayglazerBrian Jay Glazer November 10, 2013 at 5:15 am #

        I purchased it through a Mr. Bentley who was a liquidation agent for the estate. Russ Meyer had so many extras added including the special white paint and the removable hardtop which I don’t think was used much either with his ownership or mine. It is an amazing car and hopefully whom ever ended up with it enjoys it as much as Russ and I did.

Leave a Reply

