Geek To Geek Chic – ‘The Hunger Games’ Propaganda Posters

10 Apr

I am not ashamed to admit that The Hunger Games was one of my favourite films of 2012 and the recent poster drops of the last month promoting its sequel Catching Fire (alongside the great aerial picture Google Earth uncovered of the films arena) have got me more than a little excited for the November release. In a nice wave of marketing, The Hunger Games publicity heads have adopted a great tactic of the Capitol, releasing portraits of the tributes ahead of the Quarter Quell, treating the fans and film audience as if they really are citizens of Panem. And it totally worked! The portraits are beautiful, revealing just enough to get the imagination going but not too much that they reveal spoilers (unless you’re one of the ones who’s read the book trilogy). Which got me thinking… I love original film-themed art and prints (Mondo in particular have made quite a few prints that have seen me part with a lot of money), especially those that expand slightly on the existing film universe. So below I have posted some of the best Hunger Games propaganda posters I’ve found online. Some are so perfect you could actually imagine the Capitol distributing them to the twelve Districts to keep everyone subdued… Please note, none of these were done by me and if you see any of your work below please let me know so I can credit you and link!

hg8

hg6

hg9

hg5

hg15

hg4

hg7

hg12

hg3

hg16

hg10

hg11

hg13

hg2

hg14

hg1

Leave a Reply

