Don’t Call It A Comeback…

4 Nov

Dear readers, it’s been a while, hasn’t it?

Firstly, thank you to all my loyal readers, frequent fliers and all the odd fans who continue to stumble upon this blog and have come back to it over and over again. Many of you get in touch with me and send messages regarding the wonderful world of Russ Meyer, so I guess its about time I post an update…

Truth is, this baby of mine has been hidden away at the back of my mind for quite a while now. A few years ago I had a very bad breakdown (maybe one day I’ll write something about it) and, whether or not I wanted them to, my priorities had to change, which explains the long radio silence from myself on this platform. But instead of dying a lonely death as I thought it would, I’ve found that over the past four years my baby is still going strong, continuing to get daily visitors, continuing to get shared and all sorts of people continuing to get in touch with me.

So I think it’s about time that we got a little more active on here again. I’m going to play around with the entire blog and slowly over time bring it back up to scratch. My hope is to reorganise, restructure and reimagine it as the Russ Meyer information Hub that I always secretly hoped it could be. Please bear with me as I archive old posts, come back and revisit my favourites, and hopefully write some new articles. As I’ve always said any feedback is appreciated and if you have any suggestions of what you’d like me to write about or just generally want to get in touch then please do so. You can get in touch by leaving a comment below, through my twitter or my email if you have it! I look forward to hearing from you.

To end, I’d like to announce that I would love to bring back ‘Meyer Month’ next March to celebrate what would be Russ’s 100th birthday. If you would like to participate and write a contribution then please get in touch. It can be on any topic, and take any viewpoint you wish, so long as it is related to the man himself. Previous contributions have included film reviews, retrospectives, pictorials, personal stories and articles on everything from soundtracks, to editing, to costumes. I hope that some of you will be interested.

Looking forward to seeing you again on here soon,

All my love,

Lydia, aka Miss Meyer

4 Responses to “Don’t Call It A Comeback…”

  1. PorterHall November 4, 2021 at 2:06 pm #

    Lydia, this is such delightful news!! And I am so happy to hear your strength and enthusiasm for carrying this torch into the bright future! I’ve read every single post in the blog and been wishing for more, so its reinvigoration and reinvention could not be coming at a better time. Sincerely, thank you for your labor of love.

    And I’ll be very happy to offer a “Meyer Month” post if you think it could be reader-worthy. Will think about the topic and share ideas.

    “Where Does A River Begin?!!?!…!

    • lydiarghgrace November 6, 2021 at 1:02 pm #

      Thank you so much Tom, and thank you for all your support and encouragement. I would love to have you write something, let’s chat soon! Xx

  2. Carl Thomas November 9, 2021 at 6:59 pm #

    Finding a blog dedicated to Russ Meyer is great! I have a piece you may find interesting that I wrote for a forum a long time ago. It’s a review of the Big Bosoms… book. Let me know if you’re interested. You could have a look at it and see if you’d like to put on your blog. Glad you’ve brought the blog back online!

    • lydiarghgrace November 9, 2021 at 8:50 pm #

      Thank you very much Carl! Yes I would love to read your review and include it in the celebration in March, are you on Twitter? You can message me on there or Instagram and we can chat 🙂 x

Leave a comment